incredibly unaware

 

so this week i was jolted into a revelation. i realized that for too long i’ve sat idlely by while God offered me another way. Go with me..so we all know the story of the prodigal son in Luke 15:11-32. the story is about a young man who he went off, squandered his inheritance and finally woke up one day in the midst of his self inflicted devestation and decided to go back home. determining that he would rather be a servant in his father’s house than live the way he was living. so he gets up and makes his way to his home and while a long way off his father runs out to meet him. grabbing him. pulling him close. and rejoicing over the return of his son. in fact he had never stopped hoping and looking for his son to come home. the son proclaimed, “i have sinned against heaven and you and I am not worthy to be called your son”. the father called his servants and said ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet’. there is definitely more to this story so much you can learn and gather but lets stop there. what do the robe, ring and sandals represent?

I have heard and read many interpretations. 

1. the robe represents the imputed righteousness of Christ to us. His blood that covers us and makes us clean. the ring represents authority. and the sandals represent us becoming ambassadors of God and the spirit of reconciliation [one to another and man to God]**

2. in another, the robe [probably one of the fathers own robes] represents dignity, honor and acceptance. the ring represented sonship and authority. the sandals represented not being a servant but a son*

3. All these things represent what we receive in Christ upon salvation: clothed in the robe of the Redeemer’s righteousness (Isaiah 61:10), made partakers of the Spirit of adoption (Ephesians 1:5), feet fitted with the readiness that come from the gospel of peace prepared to walk in the ways of holiness (Ephesians 6:15).*

I think all 3 interpretations are in essence the same. i think all three [the robe, the ring and the sandals] represent a shift in identity. from what the son deemed he was or worthy of and how the father saw him. but what if the son rejected the fathers gift and said oh no father i am content to remain in this state. with these wrongful thoughts and not allow my mind to be renewed by the washing of your word or even to simply accept your gift of redemption. I think at least for me…its easy to compare yourself to other people and other peoples journey and get caught up in the fact that i dont act like that, or talk like that or walk like that and questions: is something wrong with me? or even get caught up in what other people define  you as. I think Christ has something to say about that and has something to say about you. how he uniquely made you and formed you and the ‘tailor made’ journey he has you on.

Psalm 139:11-16 (The Message)

13-16 Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out;
      you formed me in my mother’s womb.
   I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking!
      Body and soul, I am marvelously made!
      I worship in adoration—what a creation!
   You know me inside and out,
      you know every bone in my body;
   You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit,
      how I was sculpted from nothing into something.
   Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth;
      all the stages of my life were spread out before you,
   The days of my life all prepared
      before I’d even lived one day.

could it be there is a super/extraordinary version of yourself just within reach? within the grasp of our fathers hand? with the acceptance of his gift? with tuning into the one true voice?

is that you in that picture above? blissfully unaware that ‘you’re bigger than your body gives you credit for’? ‘is the best of you still hiding underneath your sleeves’? meant for so much more. designed with so much life changing influence/power.

sources: *got questions- prodigal son ; **your robe, your ring and your sandals

*the title was inspired by the incredibles and this book called princess unaware. i just combined the titles for a title that was the most appropriate

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “incredibly unaware

  1. katina says:

    wonderfully written, loved every word.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Cha Keziah, Cha Keziah. Cha Keziah said: check out http://bit.ly/8Y5i7r and be simultaneously uplifted and convicted. #myfriendsdobigtings […]

  3. Stacey says:

    What an amazing insight. I experienced that just this week. Who am I to say that someone else’s way of talking or acting or singing or being is better than mine? Who am I to deny Christ’s finished work? “What a creation!” is right.

Leave a Reply

