i’ll take your last name

 

I, MSJ, take you Lord to be my partner, loving what I know of you, and grateful/trusting what I do not yet know. I eagerly anticipate the chance to be your daughter and friend and confidante, getting to know you as Immanuel, God with us, and El Shaddai and Jehovah, and falling in love with you a little more everyday [developing a meaningful prayer life].

 I will be yours in times of plenty and in times of want, in times of sickness and in times of health, in times of joy and in times of sorrow, in times of failure and in times of triumph.

I promise to cherish you more than life, obey you, follow you, trust you and love you throughout the seasons of my life.

i wrote this at the beginning of the year when going through a study called ‘a young woman after God’s own heart’ by Elizabeth George. i love going back over stuff you’ve read , letters/card you’ve gotten and or written. always refreshing and such a good reminder.

this morning I am amazed and in awe of how truly astounding our God is. that we the church, the bride of christ, our a part of the beautiful exchange that is redemption and salvation. we take his last name and he took our sin and shame when we were yet enemy’s. he chose us. he loved us. if that doesn’t bring you to your knees. i dont know what will.  my heart sings, ‘my only desire and sole ambition is to love you just the same. Holy are you God. Holy is your name. with everything i’ve got. i will sing how i love you.”*

*beautiful exchange – hillsong

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

