making much of him {on leading worship}

being a vessel used by God is both being a beautiful reflection of him and also being of practical use. a thing of beauty and a thing of use. like a beautiful glass blown pitcher. you can admire it and put flowers in it but it is also made to carry water and provide a container for something refreshing.  in a similar way so is leading worship. I truly believe God wants us to reflect something of his beauty, truth and life. but not only reflect but be a vessel able to carry his presence into any situation and environment and pour out in a way that the truth and reality of God’s word, presence and glory may do what its intended to do. set the captives free, care for the widowed and orphaned, unify the scattered, place the lonely in family, heal the broken, restore, transform and so much more.

My mom and I were talking this weekend and wondering what ever happened to a certain dynamic woman preacher. And I made a comment that made me think. I said, “she started believing that all the hype was really a result of her …”. Yes, God gave her those talents and skills and opened the doors. and yes she had to put in the time and effort to hone those skills. but the reason people were drawn to her was solely because of the living water she carried within her. the beautiful glass vessel she is, spoke about something of God. it was a different sound and yet the same sound. we are the four walls, He is the cornerstone. that struck me like woah. let us not forget to make much of Him. we yield to him and He brings life where there was death and makes all things new. humility and purity and giving yourself to the process [not my will but thy will be done] is what God is attracted to. its what he delights in. Its where His presence resides.

  11 Teach me your way, LORD,
   that I may rely on your faithfulness;
give me an undivided heart,
   that I may fear your name.
12 I will praise you, Lord my God, with all my heart;
   I will glorify your name forever.
13 For great is your love toward me;
   you have delivered me from the depths,
   from the realm of the dead. [psalm 86]

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not to your own understanding. In all your ways aknowledge him and he will direct your paths.” [proverbs 3:5-6]

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

