FREE

i never knew

i never knew that this paradise

was actually a prison

I made my bed

and lyed with you

i told you all my secrets

and you kept them

lining the walls and bars

of this gilded cage

the crows

the foxes

even the wolves 

in the fog of my understanding

seemed as sheep

and became my closest friends

until…

as light broke through the darkness

looked out through those bars

and saw the life I was meant to live

the hands reaching out to me

i could hardly embrace

the tear stained face i looked up at

whispered

my beautiful one

my sweet bird

you were never meant to live this way

that voice i’d heard before

but now knew

broke the latch

broke the chains

“stepping out where there’s no floor”
I took the leap

risking it all

to have it all

giving it all away

to be

free

*everyday we make the same decision. stay or leap. be chained or be free. please take the road less traveled. the only road there is to life and life more abundantly. let go and let God.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

