to be single or not to be single…that is the question

 

there are a couple of recurring questions i always seem to get: 1. you’re such a great girl,how are you still single? 2. do you like anyone? 3. what are you going to do about that?

its almost as though people have more of a problem with me being single than I am. for the record, i am quite aware of my relationship status or lack there of and yes i am a romantica at heart who dreams up date outfits and cute date spots. and coos at cute couples. and yes, I would love to be in a relationship one day and truly welcome it! but at this moment, for the first time in a while, i’m content exactly where i am! my heart bursts with excitement for others entering and hurts with those who are hurting but as for me and my house, lol, God is more than enough for me.

i’m fully aware that the boundary lines in THIS place have fallen to me in pleasant places. there are treasures in this season and i dont want to miss a thing.

if we believe his word and we believe that indeed, ” He has made everything beautiful in its time.” [eccclesiastes 3:11] then what about this time we find ourselves in. shouldnt there be beauty here too? i have to believe that! I believe that he has a plan for me. a plan to prosper me and not to harm. I believe his word never returns void. HE IS faithful to complete the good work he has begun in us. HIS timing is impeccible! and yes i believe for me that includes a gorgeous man, a beautiful wedding and an awe inspiring marriage! why fret when the one who created the sun, moon, the stars, the mountains and the valleys, every creature and every human. the one who created the flicker in my eye, my fingerprint, my hair texture, my smile…HE, our Great God, holds my world! and not to say that i’m perfect and dont fret sometimes. but I resolve to, at the end of the day, not look left or right but up. perspective, rather HIS perspective, is everything.

and i love knowing that His providence is not dependant on my faith or my perfection but His perfection and his word. doesnt that just ease the load! breathe a sigh of relief.

so in summary, to be single or not to be single really isnt the appropriate question. the question should really be, do it my way or do it God’s way? i’d rather choose the road less traveled and a road made secure by Christ which leads to him!

this may make me an outlier but….everyone noted in the bible would probably be considered an outlier too….so…I think i’m in pretty good company! 😉

selah

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “to be single or not to be single…that is the question

  1. […] *to be single or not to be part I Blog Archive […]

  2. […] *to be single or not to be part I Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged 2011, encouragement, thoughts, Trust in God […]

Leave a Reply

