clean hands and a pure heart

Psalm 24:3-5 (NASB)

3 Who may (A)ascend into the (B)hill of the LORD?
And who may stand in His holy (C)place?
4 He who has (D)clean hands and a (E)pure heart,
Who has not (F)lifted up his soul [a]to falsehood
And has not (G)sworn deceitfully.
5 He shall receive a (H)blessing from the LORD
And [b](I)righteousness from the God of his salvation.
 
 
i’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. If God is searching the earth for those who will worship him in spirit and in truth, what does that look like and how is that done? how can we make room for God to move. a PLACE we’ve sacrificed to him, a place wholly surrendered and open to him, a place where there’s less of me glorified and more of him. i’ve been wanting my worship personally and our worship corporately to be a sweet scent onto the lord and a place where he can always come and know he’s home.I went to see kari Jobe on friday and it was so good. At the church , christ the redeemer, and their worship team did a 15 min set before she came on and their pastor gave a short intro and prayer. so filled with faith and trust in our God. i was completely overwhelmed and in tears by the end of the first 20 mins. Then kari came on and some things that were really impressed upon me were:

1. her genuine love for God

2. the purity with which she approached the throne

3. her love and reliance on God and his word

4. a life yielded to God. wholly devoted / “whole and holy instruments of God” as described in 1 kings 8:61 & 1 corinthians 7:34-35

and I truly believe its those things that have led to her longevity in worship ministry and her success in the last few years. God truly does honor the faith filled and faithful.

psalm 24:4 says, ” who may ascend the hill of the Lord” the message version says, “who can climb mount God”. not only seeing him in closer range but the ability to see from his perspective once you get there.

vs ” who may stand in the holy place:  he who has clean hands and a pure heart”

Lord you see me and know me. “create in me a pure heart and renew a steadfast spirit within me, restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me (psalm 51)”. Lord, cleanse me, teach me your way, lord , that I may rely on your faithfulness, give me an undivided heart that i may fear your name (psalm 86:11), lead me in a straight path out of the way of sinners and scoffers, the defeated, the unrepentant and the hopeless/faithless. May my heart always remember and  be filled to the brim with gratefulness. I honor you God. the riches of your love will always be enough. back to the basics.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

