Saint Francis’ Prayer [223]

I don’t know about you but everyday I need my mind renewed and need to be reminded of who I’m called to be in christ. I have to choose to put on Christ and not myself. when its so easy to turn to those old familiar routines/attitudes I have to choose God and not myself. Choose faith and not fear. Choose Joy instead of despair. choose peace instead of being stressed out.

Lord, make me an instrument of thy peace.

Where there is hate, may I bring love;

Where offense, may I bring pardon;

May I bring union in a place of discord;

Truth, replacing error;

Faith, where once there was doubt;

Hope, for despair

Light, where was darkness

Joy to replace sadness

Make me not to so crave to be loved as to love

Help me o learn that in giving I may receive;

In forgetting self, I may find life eternal

– Francis Assisi, 1182-1226

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

