My one word for 2012

Many of you may have heard about the #oneword revolution where you pick one word:

One word that sums up who you want to be or how you want to live or what you want to achieve by the end of 2012.

One word that you can focus on every day, all year long.

I chose the word:: abundance ::for some many reasons.
Last year I stepped out of my comfort zone and joined my sister friend to lead a small group and we did a book by Priscilla Shirer called ‘One in a Million’, it was about finding God in the in between times. the moments, days, weeks or even years for some between the mountain top experiences. the journey from coming out of bondage going through the desert to get to the promised land. and one thing that kept ringing out was this one scripture,
 
[John 10:10], “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full (or may have life and have it abundantly).
 
and even more so, the concepts of the book can be summarized by this tweet that reads,  “Thank God for the mountain tops, but what does it take to follow God in the valley?” – @SethTrimmer #AriseLA.  at the end of the book i asked myself, “how do you live in every season?”  one of the lessons that God was trying to teach the Israelites was that God is more than enough. in every situation and in every season. He is our great reward.
Every day: I choose God above myself. I choose worship above anxiety and worry. I choose abundance instead of small fisted living.
1. As this year began and I participated in our church’s corporate fast I kept feeling like what does it mean to live abundantly. no longer living a small hearted, a small visioned existence rattled with fear and worry. I want to embrace God with my whole heart and allow him to move me fully, holding nothing back.
2. In 2008 or 2009 Lynette Lewis came to speak at our church and I got a chance to speak with her a little and ask her a question. At which she said, the one piece of advice she would give single women is to become a celebratory person in every season. Celebrate, learn and grow in every season you’re found in because marriage only magnifies the person and state you’re found in. and what a gift you can bring to your spouse and friends and family and co-workers.
3. when I look back on my life….i want it to be said of me that she lived and gave abundantly. She loved her God passionately and gave her life for his glory. She loved and cared for everything and everyone He brought in her path and life extravagantly.

a·bun·dance

noun

1. an extremely plentiful or oversufficient quantity or supply:an abundance of grain.
2. overflowing fullness: abundance of the heart.
3. affluence; wealth: the enjoyment of abundance.

Here are my scriptures: isaiah 42:5-7; Isaiah 61; luke 4:18-19; 1 John 4:18

So here’s to living abundantly this year. woooooo Help me Lord!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

